Discussion Stats
  • 7 replies
  • 18 kudos
  • 8 in conversation
Highlighted
Occasional Visitor
Accepted Solution

Choosing healthy meals

I've been running for a couple of years now and have been incorporating healthy eating to lose a little bit of wait. However, I find it more exhausting to actually find a meal to eat, whether it is to replenish my body from my run, or just choose the right meals for the rest of the day. A lot of websties list meals that either take too long to make, or include ingredients that I don't have. Does anyone have suggestions on how to take the pressure off of finding just the right meal or snack? I want to know what I am looking for when I go to eat. Thanks!

Coach

Re: Choosing healthy meals

[ Edited ]

I preach something quite easy.

If one may pick it, pull it, or hook it - eat it.  If it comes without a nutrition sticker chances are it is real food (apple, orange, grape, carrot) so eat it.  Eat all you want.

All else consume with consideration.  Give yourself that meal or day to cheat.  Live and enjoy your life. My food drugs of choice are chocolate and ice cream. 

Cheers.

The Pain of Regret is far greater than the Pain of Failure.
Coach

I agrees it can be very difficult to prepare a healthy meal after running. I make wraps spreading hummus and then adding veggies and avacados. The key is staying away from processed foods.. 

Contributor

I've found that tuna fish wraps/sandwiches are quick to make and provide a nice boost of energy.
I also pre make burritos with egg, turkey sausage, peppers, and cheese. I wrap them in cling-wrap, throw them in the freezer, and toss them in the microwave when I'm ready to eat.
Frequent Contributor